GK Chronicle GK Chronicle

Modern History / National Movement

Home Rule Movement

Home Rule Movement in India was started in 1916. Here, Home Rule means Self Rule. It is a concept that was developed in Ireland. It was brought to India by Annie Besant. Bal Gangadhar Tilak was the first person to support Home Rule. The main objective of this movement was to achieve self rule in India.

Home Rule League

In 1916, Home Rule movement was started by both Annie Besant and Bal Gangadhar Tilak separately in India. Tilak started the movement in Bombay province, Central Province and Karnataka area and Annie Besant started in rest of India.

  • Home Rule League by Tilak

    • In April, 1916, an organization called Home Rule League was started by Tilak. The president of this league was Joseph Baptista. N.C. Kelkar (editor of Kesari magazine) was the general secretary.

    • There were three demands of this movement, (i) Self Rule, (ii) Formation of linguistic provinces and (iii) Education in vernacular languages.
  • Home Rule League by Annie Besant

    • In September, 1916, a separate Home Rule League was started by Annie Besant for which she was the President. C. P. Ramaswami Iyer was the general secretary and B.P. Wadia (in 1918, B.P. Wadia formed Madras Labour Union, the first modern trade union, which is registered and organised) was the treasurer for the Annie Besant Home Rule League.

    • By 1917, the Indian Home Rule movement got declined. The reason being August Declaration, also called Montagu Declaration, of 1917. It was made by the Secretary of State, Edwin Montagu.

    • August Declaration made two constitutional promises, (i) Self Rule to Indians and (ii) Responsible Government.

    • After August Declaration, Surendranath Banerjee left Congress in support of the British. He founded a new political party, Indian National Liberal Federation in 1919.