GK Chronicle GK Chronicle

Indian Polity / Centre State Relations

Committees on Centre State Relations in India

Different commissions and committees like Rajamannar Committee, Sarkaria Commission, etc. were constituted by the Central as well as state governments to perform comprehensive study on Centre State relations in India. These committees made their recommendations to the Governments. Some of the recommendations were accepted and some were rejected.

Rajamannar Committee

Rajamannar Committee, a three member committee, was appointed by Tamil Nadu Government in 1969 under the chairmanship of justice P.V. Rajamannar. The other members of Rajamannar Committee are A. Lakshmanaswami Mudaliar and Justice P. Chandra Reddy.

The Committee presented its recommendations in 1971. The Rajamannar Committee recommendations were not taken into consideration by the Union Government.

Its important recommendations are -

  1. Abolishment of the office of the Governor

  2. Deletion of Articles 355, 356 and 365

  3. Abolition of All India Services

  4. Providing equal representation to the States in Rajya Sabha

  5. Abolition of the method of nomination of 12 members to Rajya Sabha

Sarkaria Commission

Sarkaria Commission was an official Commission appointed by the Union Government in 1983 under chairmanship of former judge of the Supreme Court, Justice R.S. Sarkaria. The other members of the Commission were B. Sivaraman and Dr S.R. Sen.

Sarkaria Commission submitted it's report in 1988. It made 247 recommendations of which 171 were considered by the Government.

Anandpur Sahib Resolution

Anandpur Sahib Resolution was made by Akali Dal Party in Punjab in 1973 regarding Centre–State relations. The major recommendation of this Resolution is, except Defence, International relations, Currency and Banking, all other matters should be transferred to the States.

Punchhi Commission

Punchhi Commission is the second Commission instituted by the Union Government to review the working of Centre-State relations as the first Commission on Centre-State relations (RS Sarkaria Commission) recommendations have become outdated.

The Committee was instituted in 2007. The Committee has 5 members including former Chief Justice of India, Justice Madan Mohan Punchhi as its chairman.

It reviewed the working of Centre-State relations identifying the areas of tension or conflict and to make suggestions and to recommend for the smooth working of Centre-State relations. It submitted its report with 273 recommendations in 2010. The Government is yet to take a decision on Punchhi Commission recommendations.

National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution (NCRWC)

In 2000, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) Government appointed National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution (NCRWC) under the chairmanship of former Chief Justice of India M. N. Venkatachaliah consisting of 10 members.

The Commission submitted its report with many recommendations in 2002. It made very extensive report after lot of workshops, seminars and consultations but the subsequent United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Government rejected the recommendations made by this Commission.


  1. Who headed as the chairman of National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution?

    1. Justice Madan Mohan Punchhi

    2. Justice P.V. Rajamannar

    3. Justice R.S. Sarkaria

    4. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah


    Ans: D

  2. Which centre state relations committee or commission recommended for abolition of All India Services?

    1. Sarkaria Commission

    2. Rajamannar Committee

    3. Punchhi Commission

    4. National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution


    Ans: B