GK Chronicle GK Chronicle

Indian Polity / Union Legislature

Presiding Officers in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

The presiding officer of Lok Sabha is called Speaker. Article 93 talks about Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Panel Speakers in Lok Sabha. The presiding officer of Rajya Sabha is called Chairman. Article 89 talks about Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Panel Chairmen in Rajya Sabha.

Speaker of Loka Sabha

  • The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are elected by simple majority of the members of Lok Sabha present and voting for a term of 5 years. However, office of the Speaker continues notwithstanding the dissolution of Lok Sabha until new Speaker is elected but it is not applicable to the Deputy Speaker, whose position ends after the dissolution.

  • He must be a member of Lok Sabha at the time of election of the Speaker. It is also applicable to Deputy Speaker.

  • Lok Sabha itself removes the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker by a resolution of a majority vote. Whenever, the resolution is pending against the removal of the Speaker, he should not preside over Lok Sabha.

  • The salary and other allowances of the presiding officer of Lok Sabha and his Deputy are fixed by the Parliament of India and are charged on the Consolidated Fund of India as mentioned in second Schedule of the Constitution.

  • Protem Speaker - When the dissolved Lok Sabha Speaker vacates his office before the newly-elected Lok Sabha's first meeting, then President of India appoints a Protem Speaker in order to administer the oath of the newly elected members and also to facilitate the election of the Speaker of Lok Sabha. Once Speaker is elected, the post of Protem Speaker is dissolved.

  • The present speaker of Lok Sabha is Om Birla and the present deputy speaker of Lok Sabha position is vacant. The first speaker of Lok Sabha is Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar and the first deputy speaker of Lok Sabha is Madabhushi Ananthasayanam Ayyangar.

Powers and functions of the Speaker

  • The Speaker presides over Lok sabha and conducts the business of the Lower House and maintains order, decorum and discipline in the House.

  • Nothing can be allowed in the House without the prior permission of the Speaker.

  • Speaker certifies as to whether a Bill is said to be a Money Bill or an Ordinary Bill. His certification is final and can not be called into question in the court of law.

  • He protects the privileges and rights of the members and the Lower House under Article 105.

  • The Speaker exercises his casting vote in case of tie. In case of a resolution in the removal of the Speaker, he exercises his voting as an ordinary member. He has to vote at the first instance and not in case of tie.

  • The Panel Speakers are appointed by the Speaker. They preside over the House for time being in case of Speaker and Deputy Speaker are not available.

Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

Article 89 says that the Vice-President of India is the ex-officio Chairman or the presiding officer of Rajya Sabha. Deputy Chairman is elected by members of the Rajya Sabha only for the term of 6 years and he is also removed by the members of Rajya Sabha.

The tenure of Chairman is 5 years as the tenure of Vice-President is 5 years. Regarding the powers and functions of the Deputy Chairman, they are similar to the Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha.

The present deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha is Harivansh Narayan Singh. The first deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha is S. V. Krishnamoorthy Rao.