GK Chronicle GK Chronicle

Indian Polity / Union Executive

Introduction to Union Executive

    The Indian Government has three branches namely Executive, Legislature and Judiciary. We have parliamentary form of Government at the Union and at the State level.

    • Articles 52 to 78 deal with Union Executive. The Union Executive should consist of President, Vice-President, Prime Minister along with his council of ministers and Attorney General.

    • President of India is the head of Union Executive.

    • The Cabinet headed by the Prime Minister of India is the real Executive which exercises the real power and advises the President who generally accepts its advice. Hence, the President of India is a nominal Executive.